Posted by: resparish | December 4, 2014

Meet Our New Director of Faith Formation

Robert_Rodrigues[As we begin the New Year we are pleased to be welcoming Robert Rodrigues as our new Faith Formation director. He comes to us with a great deal of knowledge and experience and with a real passion for religious education. We are fortunate to be able to welcome him to our Staff.

We asked Robert to write his own introduction and are happy to be posting it here.]

 

As the new Director of Faith Formation for the Church of the Resurrection I would like to take this time to introduce myself. My name is Robert Rodrigues. I was born in Oakland, CA and raised in Hayward, CA the youngest of four children (my parents saved the best for last) and I am of Portuguese decent on both sides of my family. My father continues to live in the home I was raised in; my mother passed away some ten years ago. I have one brother and two sisters and seven nieces and nephews and am blessed with two grand-nephews.

I went to school through the public school system in San Lorenzo, CA and therefore attended at that time what was called C.C.D. (Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, or as I once heard a speaker call it Catholic Civil Defense) in my home parish of St. Joachim. It was here under the guidance of the Sisters of the Holy Family that I was introduced to the teachings of the Church and it was here that my faith began to grow and take root, and it was here that my love for the ministry of catechetics began to grow, especially when I became a catechist in high school.

After high school it was off to college at San Jose State University where I received my B.A. degree in Religious Studies. I also hold a Masters in Pastoral Theology with an emphasis in Religious Education from Seattle University and trained as a Spiritual Director at Mercy Center in Burlingame, CA.

I spent eleven years in parish ministry as a Director of Catechetical Ministry in CA and OR. I was also the Director of Religious Education for the Archdiocese of Portland in Oregon; I served as an administrator at Mount Angel Seminary in Mount Angel, OR where I was Director of Field Education and associate professor. I was also Director of St. Francis Retreat Center in San Juan Bautista, CA. I am also formally a Franciscan Friar of the Province of Saint Barbara hence all the various ministerial experiences.

I am excited about returning to parish ministry in the area of faith formation, which is my first love, and I am especially excited about beginning ministry at Resurrection and look forward to working with Father Leger and the staff as we help the people of Resurrection to respond and continue to live out their Baptismal promises as disciples in the world. To quote St. Francis of Assisi, “God has sent you into the whole world that you might bear witness in word and deed.”

This is for me the heart of faith formation on all age levels that in light of instruction people’s faith become living, active and conscious. Faith Formation is about information that leads to transformation of self and others (the community) and that once transformed the people of God go forth as disciples in the world proclaiming in word and deed the Good News of the Lord. I look forward to walking this journey of transformation with you and your families as together we continue to grow and live deeply our faith.

Peace and All Good,

Robert Rodrigues

[Robert Rodrigues will take over the responsibilities of Faith Formation Director at the beginning of January, 2015.]


Categories